Book Review If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

Mar 242020
 

If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

Internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartful romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.

If faking love is this easy… how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility.

Jamie Carter doesn’t believe in love, but he needs a respectable, steady girlfriend to impress their bosses. Laurie wants a hot new man to give the rumor mill something else to talk about. It’s the perfect proposition: a fauxmance played out on social media, with strategically staged photographs and a specific end date in mind. With the plan hatched, Laurie and Jamie begin to flaunt their new couple status, to the astonishment—and jealousy—of their friends and colleagues. But there’s a fine line between pretending to be in love and actually falling for your charming, handsome fake boyfriend…

Title: If I Never Met You
Author: Mhairi McFarlane
Publication Date: March 24th, 2020
Shelves: Contemporary; Romance;
Format: Kindle (432 pages)
Rating: 9/10

I will start this review by saying I don’t usually read 3rd person or I genuinely avoid them as much as possible.

When it comes to this book, I was sold as soon as I read the blurb and was in a mood of fake / blurred line relationships and some office drama.

Every time I read a book written in 3rd person, after I finished and enjoyed it, I still know I don t like the style that much.

Laurie is a 36-year-old attorney and has been in a serious relationship with a co-worker, Dan. After 18 years of being together, Dan had a fall out and wanted to break up with her.

The struggle was they were considering having a baby and after he breaks up with her for another woman, he also impregnates her.

To avoid office drama, during an elevator stuck with the famous playboy, Jamie Carter, they think having a relationship will benefit both. She can make Dan jealous and tell the world she’s moved on and Jamie can get his wanted promotion.

I enjoyed the diversity and I like reading this English author because I love the different expression. Unlike others, who write more “American”, this is pure British.

The ending felt a bit rushed, and the sexy time were skipped of details, but I lost a night of sleep on it so was worth it.

Buy Book on:

Newsletter

Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: